Wednesday, February 12, 2020

The Last Three Stanley Cup Winners

stanley cup
The recipient of a juris doctor degree from Temple University, Mark Hanamirian practiced law for nearly 30 years and was a founding partner at two Philadelphia, Pennsylvania-based firms. Outside of his professional endeavors, Mark Hanamirian enjoys following sports such as football, baseball, and hockey.

The Stanley Cup has been awarded to the champions of the National Hockey League (NHL) since the 1917-2018 season. Below are the three most recent winners of the prestigious trophy:

1. St. Louis Blues (2019) - The Blues placed last in the NHL on January 3, 2019, but thanks in part to the performance of goaltender Jordan Binnington, the team finished second in the Central Division with 99 points and qualified for the playoffs. It defeated the Boston Bruins to win its first-ever Stanley Cup.

2. Washington Capitals (2018) - After a 105-point regular season, the Capitals defeated the Columbus Blue Jackets, Pittsburgh Penguins, and Tampa Bay Lightning in the first three rounds of the playoffs. The team beat the Vegas Golden Knights 4-1 in the best-of-seven Stanley Cup Final to win its first-ever Stanley Cup.

3. Pittsburgh Penguins (2017) - Pittsburgh won the Stanley Cup for the second consecutive year and third time in nine seasons in 2017. The team defeated the Nashville Predators in the Stanley Cup Final, while Evgeni Malkin led the team in playoff scoring with 28 points in 25 games.